Governance Board

The CBNS Governance Board has an independent advisory role to the Centre Director, Executive and Management Committee. The Board provide guidance on strategy and stakeholder engagement as well as monitoring progress towards the delivery of key performance indicators and other objectives.

Professor Peter C Doherty AC FAA FRS (Chair)

Professor Doherty shared the 1996 Nobel Medicine Prize for discovering the nature of the cellular immune defense. Based at the University of Melbourne and also spending part of his year at St Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, he continues to be involved in research directed at understanding and preventing the severe consequences of influenza virus infection. In addition, he goes in to bat for evidence-based reality, relating to areas as diverse as childhood vaccination, global hunger and anthropogenic climate change. In an effort to communicate more broadly, he has published 4 “lay” books, and has another in progress.








Professor Calum J Drummond PhD FTSE FAICD FRACI FRSC CChem

Professor Drummond is currently Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation and a Vice President at RMIT University, playing a leadership role in the development of discovery and practice-based research and in building and enhancing capability in research and innovation across the University. He is also an active research professor and has published over 200 papers and patents in the area of advanced materials, including biomedical and energy storage applications.

Professor Drummond joined RMIT University in 2014 from CSIRO where he was Group Executive for Manufacturing, Materials and Minerals comprising 1300 researchers and research support staff. Earlier he was seconded from CSIRO to be the inaugural Vice President Research at CAP-XX, an Intel portfolio company that developed supercapacitors for consumer electronic products.






Professor Michelle Haber AM BSc (Psych) (Hons) PhD Hon DSc (UNSW)

Professor Haber joined the Children’s Cancer Institute as a staff scientist in 1984. She was appointed Director of the Institute in June 2000 and Executive Director in June 2003. Professor Haber is known for her world-class research into the treatment of neuroblastoma and acute lymphoblastic leukaemia in children. Professor Haber holds a conjoint appointment as Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of New South Wales. She has served as President (2010-2012) and currently serves on the Steering Committee of the International Advances in Neuroblastoma Research Association.

In 2007 Professor Haber was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for services to science in the field of research into childhood cancer, to scientific education and to the community. In 2008, she was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of New South Wales for her eminent service to the cancer research community. More recently, in 2014, Professor Haber was awarded the Cancer Institute NSW’s Premier’s Award for Outstanding Cancer Researcher of the Year.






Ms Maureen O’Keefe BSc (Hons) DipEd MBA GAICD WCLP

Ms O'Keefe was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Australian College of Optometry in March 2013, an organisation providing public health eye care, tertiary clinical teaching and education, and research to preserve sight and prevent blindness. She spent the previous seven years as Chief Operating Officer at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research and prior to that held several senior executive roles at the University of Melbourne. Ms O'Keefe is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Williamson Community Leadership Program and an Executive Education Program at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.  

Ms O'Keefe has spent her career in higher education, research and health organisations and has more than fifteen years’ experience in senior executive roles. She is a Board member of Vision2020 Australia, the Victorian Department of Health's Clinical Trial Research Ministerial Consultative Council and the BioMelbourne Network. Previously, Ms O'Keefe was a member of the Council of the Victorian Cancer Agency for 6 years, a Ministerial appointment, including two years as a member of the VCA Clinical Trials Working Group.





Dr Warwick Tong BSc MB ChB MPP GAICD

Dr Tong is currently the CEO of the Cancer Therapeutics Cooperative Research Centre headquartered in Melbourne. In 2013 he led the CRC through a successful extension application receiving another six years of funding until 2020. Formerly a director of Primecare Medical Ltd (NZ) and MedInnovate Ltd (UK) he is currently a member of the Advisory Board for Cortex Health. He has spent more than 20 years in executive management in drug development and commercial roles in both the major pharmaceutical and biotech industry.

After graduating as Senior Scholar in Medicine from Auckland University and working in General Practice Dr Tong joined Glaxo in NZ as Medical Director and subsequently worked in Singapore and London, in regional and global business development and commercial roles for Glaxo. Prior to coming to Melbourne Warwick spent five years in Boston as SVP, Development, for Surface Logix Inc.





Professor Gordon Wallace FAA FTSE FIOP FRACI

Professor Wallace is currently the Executive Research Director at the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science and Director of the Intelligent Polymer Research Institute. He is Director of the ANFF Materials node. He previously held an ARC Federation Fellowship and currently holds an ARC Laureate Fellowship.

Professor Wallace is an elected Fellow at the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the Institute of Physics (UK) and the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. In addition to being named NSW Scientist of the Year in the chemistry category in 2008, he was also appointed to the Korean World Class University System, and received the Royal Australian Chemical Institute HG Smith Prize.

In 2004, Professor Wallace received the Royal Australian Chemical Institute Stokes Medal for research in Electrochemistry, after being awarded an ETS Walton Fellowship by Science Foundation Ireland in 2003. The Royal Australian Chemical Institute awarded him the Inaugural Polymer Science and Technology Award in 1992.